Advice needed! What path should I take?

For applicants who have been out of school for a few years, or are planning to have a family in medical school, or have other non-traditional qualities.

Moderators: CaribMD, AL_emt

detertobeasurg

Advice needed! What path should I take?

Post by detertobeasurg »

I graduated in Spring of 2011 with a Bachelors in Psychology from a local college (Queens College) but I've decided that I really want to pursue a career in Medicine.
What's really slowing me down is my low GPA which is a 2.7 and I've only taken one prereq which was Gen Bio 1.
I've looked at a few options such as postbac programs but the schools near where I live offering those programs require GPAs north of 2.8 so I don't really have much of a chance getting into those programs

Should I go back to Queens College for a second degree in Biology while taking other prereqs for Med School? Or are there other option out there for me that you guys may know?

Your help is much appreciated!

DOdoc
Gunner
Gunner

Re: Advice needed! What path should I take?

Post by DOdoc »

Hi,

Regardless if you pursue a second degree, you will at least need to take the medical school pre-reqs. Those are gen biology I & II, physics I & II, gen chem I & II, and o-chem I & II. Many schools require at least one semester of math--some require two. Also, some schools require one semester of biochem (which I recommend taking even if it isn't required). There is no way to get around these. Period.