UK graduate, US residency?

Resources and answers for IMGs applying to the ECFMG for US medical and surgical residencies.

Moderator: CaribMD

Poppy

UK graduate, US residency?

Post by Poppy »

I am currently studying medicine at The University of Manchester in the UK, I am a UK citizen.

I hope to pursue a career in plastic surgery and I am currently trying to plan out my career/research into possible opportunities.

I was wondering how hard it is get a residency spot in plastics for an IMG, in the US? If I had extremely high USMLE scores, what else would I need to ensure I have the very best application possible to secure a spot in prestigious hospitals eg Mayo, MGH etc? Is it even possible for IMGs to get residency spots in such hospitals or are they relegated to 'lesser' hospitals in the middle of nowhere?

I will complete my entire medical school training within the UK, but I will spend 2 months in my last year in the US at Yale (I'm planning to apply for a Surgical Critical Care elective - http://medicine.yale.edu/globalhealth/i ... rgery.aspx) . Will I need more US experience than this? Is it compulsory?

Is there an ideal time-frame to apply for residencys? Eg if I graduate in 2012, would I be apply to apply for a residency in 2015? Or would I be 'too old' by then?

Thanks for any help!

CaribMD
The One
The One

Re: UK graduate, US residency?

Post by CaribMD »

Poppy wrote:I am currently studying medicine at The University of Manchester in the UK, I am a UK citizen.

I hope to pursue a career in plastic surgery and I am currently trying to plan out my career/research into possible opportunities.