RN to Physicians Assistant or Med School?

Career and education discussion for nurses and nursing students. LPN/LVN, BSN, RN, MSN, Doctor of Nursing.

Moderator: CaribMD

nenew

RN to Physicians Assistant or Med School?

Post by nenew »

I still cannot afford a car and am a pre-nursing fin. aid student with a 3.5 GPA. Getting around without a car is extremely difficult now, much less when I am accepted to nursing school (after I pass the TEAS, for which I am studying in addition to my regular full-time coursework- (10 credits currently, 'full time' this summer) . I was working (this winter, outdoors) and doing a 5.5 HOUR commute while in school .

Is it way out there to think of becoming a physician's assistant? Working full time while doing school full time is near-impossible, and certainly impossible for med students. I don't have the luxury of assistance like meals,laundry, etc. I do all the cleaning cooking and laundry, which requires my WALKING 2 miles, including in this winter, on top of schoolwork since there is no reliable ride. Not complaining, just stating what it is.

I need to get into the work field immediately; that is why I am doing the two-year RN program, a pre-req of which is STNA certification (nursing assistant). That is one of the classes I am taking this summer.

So I am uncertain of what to do.. get an RN degree (bachelors), work in the field while attending physician assistant school, or apply to medschool instead once I have the bachelor's? I am over 40 years old, and would love to go to med school, but at this age, the physician's asst. seems to make more sense. Thanks.
Last edited by nenew on Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:00 am, edited 2 times in total.

Brady Kinesia
Sub-I
Sub-I

Re: RN to Physicians Assistant?

Post by Brady Kinesia »