mcat preparation advice

Preparing and applying for medical school.

Sponsored by the Premed Status Report. Analyzes over 20 variables to estimate your chances of getting into medical school.

Moderators: cheechootrain, Vonsmack, AL_emt

grad2009

mcat preparation advice

Post by grad2009 »

hey guys, i was wondering if people could tell me how they actually studied for the mcat. i am in the process of studying now and don't know where to begin. i am taking notes as i am studying my kaplan review books, but feel like i am just rewriting the whole book out. any other study suggestions/techniques besides note-taking and using flash cards?

MedStudent2010
Scutophile
Scutophile

Re: mcat preparation advice

Post by MedStudent2010 »

This is how I'm doing it...(I'm using exam krackers)

Each week, I am doing a different lecture for each subject..

Monday: Read the lectures for Chemistry, Biology, Physics, and Organic once without paying attention to detail

Tuesday: Carefully review chemistry lecture and work tons of problems especially on the concepts that are blurry to me.

Wednesday: Carefully review biology lecture and work problems. Take exam kracker's 30 minute chemistry exam.

Thursday: Carefully review physics lecture and work problems. Take EK's 30 min biology exam.

Friday: Carefully review organic lecture and work problems. Take EK's 30 min physics exam

Saturday: Take 30 min organic exam and work more problems for any of the subjects I feel iffy about. Review things I missed throughout the week again.

Sunday: Work the EK's 101 Passage in Verbal Reasoning. Take practice MCAT

Then I repeat for the remaining lectures in each subject. I probably study at least 4 hours a day and at most 10.

Vince86
Gunner
Gunner

Post by Vince86 »

The way I was taught to study is to keep repeating everything as much as possible.