HELP! I'm a first semester student and I'm confused

Caribbean and Foreign medical school discussion: accreditation, costs, US residency match rates...

Moderator: CaribMD

Ross_MD_Student

HELP! I'm a first semester student and I'm confused

Post by Ross_MD_Student »

Hello,

I'm writing this message in Dominica as a first-semester student here at Ross University. I seriously need to evaluate my future aspirations and put some thought into contingency plans regarding not making it here in Ross. You see, we just had the second part of our Exam 1 Friday, and I made a 61% even though I studied like crazy.

I never knew what the drop-out rate was here at Ross, but I imagined it to be 25%, maximum. I know for a fact that ~20% drop out in 1 year's time. During orientation, we were told that 7% are effectively kicked out before the USMLE I because they couldn't pass Ross' "in-house USMLE" exam, which is a pre-requisite to take the USMLE. I'm not sure if the 7% is the gross percentage of folks getting kicked out or if it is 7% of people at that stage who are not allowed to advance.

Anyways, here are my questions to you, and I'm sure you've heard them all before.
1. What is the graduation rate at Ross? Yesterday, I'm doing some cursory studies on this, and I'm hearing a scattering of figures going as high as "30%-50%" on ValueMD . But that author never cited his/her figures.
2. Semester 3 here is a drop out point as well. I think that it's due to pharmacology. What percentage of folks drop out here and why (is it pharma)?
3. Is Ross a scam?

CaribMD
The One
The One

Re: HELP! I'm a first semester student and I'm confused

Post by CaribMD »

Lets be honest here, If you cannot pass an exam at Ross what would make anyone think they can anywhere else?

The material is not different or easier, in Fact the USMLE is harder now then it was 2 years ago.

The honestly here is that medicine is not for everyone.

If you studied for the tests then maybe you still did not study right.