Permanent US Resident.

Caribbean and Foreign medical school discussion: accreditation, costs, US residency match rates...

Moderator: CaribMD

falcon21

Permanent US Resident.

Post by falcon21 »

So i immigrated to the us 9 years ago.. im a legal permanent resident (have a green card) .. but i have yet to apply for citizenship.

However, im planning on attending a school in the caribbeans. Question is "do i need a visa to go down there? and What about on the way back to the US? Do they check ur citizenship status?"

CaribMD
The One
The One

Re: Permanent US Resident.

Post by CaribMD »

falcon21 wrote:So i immigrated to the us 9 years ago.. im a legal permanent resident (have a green card) .. but i have yet to apply for citizenship.

However, im planning on attending a school in the caribbeans. Question is "do i need a visa to go down there? and What about on the way back to the US? Do they check ur citizenship status?"

We all need visas t go to school here,

For you will you get a US passport or will you have another?

You are not "Living in another country" You are coming as a student and you will have a US address be it yours or your family, thats where you live and I still pay my taxes (Well file anyway).

falcon21

Post by falcon21 »

no, i have a pakistani passport.
But i have been to canada and on the way back they just checked the passports.. but im not sure about coming back from the caribbeans?

and I heard sumthing about u cant be out of the US for more than a year widout official permission or somthing?

victronics
Gunner
Gunner

Re: Permanent US Resident.

Post by victronics »

falcon21 wrote:So i immigrated to the us 9 years ago.. im a legal permanent resident (have a green card) .. but i have yet to apply for citizenship.